Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

  • Excise Frequently Asked Questions
  • MA RMV  
     
  • Issued once each calendar year to each owner of a registered vehicle in Massachusetts.
  • These bills are prepared from the records of the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles.
  • Tax information/Bill file is sent from the RMV to the Tax Collector, and the Tax Collector creates, prints and mails the bills.
  • Excise bills are due and payable in FULL *30 days from the date of issueExcise tax payments must be received in the Tax collector's office by 4:00p.m. on the due date.

If not paid, the Tax Collector issues a Demand Bill, which includes a $5 charge and interest at the rate of 12% (charges & interest are mandated by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue). Most bills are mailed in February however, Excise bills can be mailed at any time. 

Taxpayers that have "Marked" Registrations for non-payment must make payments IN FULL to the Deputy Collector's Office by phone at 800-268-1988, or online at Kelly and Ryan, or in person at one of their *locations before the "Mark" will be released. NOTE: Payments made in person must be by Bank Check or Money Order.

  • Excise tax bills should not be ignored.  Per MA Gen Laws It is the TAXPAYERS liability for the tax & it remains unless the bill is either paid or *abated.
  • If there is a question about a bill, contact the Board of Assessors immediately to have the problem resolved.
  • If you disagree with the Tax VALUATION you must contact the RMV to request a change in Value.
  • Taxpayers should be prepared to pay the full amount due.
  • Application for *abatement or valuation dispute, does not stay collection of the tax. Should there be a delay in the granting of an abatement or value change, it is wiser to pay the bill and receive a refund than to let the bill remain unpaid.   
  • Delinquent excise bills can accrue considerable charges and fees and may ultimately lead to suspension of the vehicle owner's license.
  • Payment of excise is due 30 days from the date the excise bill is issued (not postage mailing date, as popularly believed).
  • Failure to receive notice shall not affect the validity of the excise per MA Gen Laws Chapter 60A, Section 2
  • There are no special considerations for financial hardship.
  • PARTIAL PAYMENTS ARE NOT ACCEPTED
  • The place of garaging of the vehicle, as of January 1, determines to what city or town the bill is payable.
  • NOTE: Be sure if changing your address with the RMV you ALSO change the place of garaging with your Insurance Provider.
  • The rate is standard throughout the state - $25.00 per $1,000 of assessed value which is set by the RMV.
     
  • Click here for calculation of  motor vehicle excise bills